Logo

2004 Merc 15 HP 4Stroke- Will not go forward - reverse is ok

JanS48

Greetings everyone

When I shift into forward nothing happens, the neutral position seems ok, and reverse works. With the motor off the boat, and putting the shift lever in forward, then spinning the prop by hand (forward) I hear a clicking noise. If I attempt the same while in the reverse position the prop will engage the motor. Is this something that happens?

In looking at the parts diagram, I suspect the problem will be the clutch mechanism. I'm an accomplished mechanic but not very familiar with this outboard, is there a trick to getting the gear assy. apart? I watched a U-toob where the guy pried a plate off of what looked like a 'dog' gear but it didn't go past that.

Can someone shed a little lite on how to proceed?

Issue 2 - 4 years ago I removed the lower leg and installed a 5" extension kit, it was a fairly straight-forward installation. However now in attempting to remove the lower leg it appears very very frozen. I managed to get the joint between the upper leg and the extension piece to move slightly but am un-able to lower it. Is it possible the drive shaft spline is frozen into the motor? Does that happen often? Any advice would be most welcome.

3rd the motor being an 04 model is getting up there in years, am I at end-of-life for this motor?

Thanks-in-advance

Jan

Check the shift shaft adjustment. Mid section area . On shift shaft. You would have had to undo it to get the drive off originally

Greetings everyone

When I shift into forward nothing happens, the neutral position seems ok, and reverse works. With the motor off the boat, and putting the shift lever in forward, then spinning the prop by hand (forward) I hear a clicking noise. If I attempt the same while in the reverse position the prop will engage the motor. Is this something that happens?