Logo

1998 Evinrude 5hp E5REC Water Pump Question

StephenM

I have very little experience with outboard motors but I have done some small engine work. So I cleaned the carburetor on the 5hp since it was sitting about 15 years to get it running. I also noticed the water pump exhaust tube sticking down was clogged with dirt so I removed the tube and cleaned it out. Now first mistake was not testing the motor at home in a bucket. I can’t use those clamp on water hose flusher things as this outboard appears to suck water in front port in the bottom? So at the lake test today the pump did not immediately pump water but it did start pumping a slow stream of water after 10 second or so. So we drove to a spot and fished a little then I started the motor back up and there was no water coming out at all. Just what appeared to be a little steam vapor coming out. So I immediately shut the motor down and used the trolling motor the rest of the day.

From what I have read online online it appears the water pump has failed or is very weak. Just out of curiosity these water pumps don’t have to be primed right? They should prime after the outboard is lowered and the engine starts, hints the slight delay in water coming out? The water pump kit is cheap so I going to replace it no matter what. I’m also going to try and blow air through water exhaust port and see if I can fee it at the intake to see if there is a clog somewhere else. Maybe another bug made a dirt clog somewhere else too.

Any opinions?

Good morning,

sounds like your on the right track with the water impeller being weak I’d change it out and make sure the base plate is in good shape I know the bigger motors have them I would think those would have them I’ve never missed with anything smaller then a 48 hp lol