Logo

1979 evinrude doing funny things

hi everyone total forum noob here so excuse my ignorance please

recently bought a boat that has a 1979 Evinrude 115 on it

we ran it on muffs and I thought it ran well...………...well I put it in the water and it proved me an idiot!!

back story has been sitting 3 years with old fuel in it

put new fuel in it and ran it. it ran super rough sometimes on 2 cylinders and sometimes on 3 after I got it moving it roared to life on all 4 cylinders

when I idle ba ck down it drops to 2/3 cylinders again until I have had the throttle tapped for a few minits then boom. 4 cylinders

I checked compression and it is a touch low (100 in all four) but from what I have read, even though that is far from ideal, it is still acceptable, at least to finish the season out.

I just replaced the spark plugs and am planning on testing it some more in the morning as it still sounds rough on muffs

can you gentleman please give me some sort of an order in which to start checking things on the motor so I can iron it out?

and I want to thank all you in advance as I know im not the first ignorant noob to ask the same dumb questions

Do the carbs on all 4 and go from there.
Yep, I would question any carb that has sat for 3 years, especially if old fuel was left in the bowls to evaporate. Just to check things off the list I would test spark just to verify it's good.

On this page.----Click on " engine diagrams "----Then on line with 1955 - present.----just a few clicks to find it on the list for 79 model 115 HP.

so a little update.....

I pulled the carbs and am inspecting them and cleaning although they are surprisingly clean to begin with

I checked that each coil pack is producing spark and they are all doing well