Logo

1979 35HP shifting issue

Wayne S

I bought this outboard last year. when I put it on the boat this year the first time I took it out I found it needed a clutch dog. Although I have pretty good mechanical ability I have no experience with outboards. I watched a couple videos finally found a new clutch dog and put it all back together. Now it is worse then before. I cannot shift it into forward gear except by hand and then it won't stay. Everything seemed right to me but again no experience.

The cables will not move far enough to shift it into gear. If I disconnect the cable I am able to shift it in but it comes right out. I have to move it along way to get it to shift into gear. I have to shift it past where it should sit in the shift lever lock (shift lock lever, not sure).

someone on another forum told me that with this shift rod I just turn it all the way down, no measurement for height. When I put the lower unit back on I have to have everything in reverse. In any other gear I cannot get to the bolt on the top of the brass connector. I have been putting it in with the connector on the loser section of shift rod. Could that be making a difference? Have i been making so stupid of a mistake. Of course I hope that is what it is.

any help would be greatly appreciated. TIA

Attachments

• 20210924_095341.jpg
    20210924_095341.jpg
    159.6 KB · Views: 12
The notches in the upper and lower shift rods MUST line up with the holes in the brass connector.-----They must line up before you put the bolt in.----And therefor there is no adjustment feature at that connector.

The notches in the upper and lower shift rods MUST line up with the holes in the brass connector.-----They must line up before you put the bolt in.----And therefor there is no adjustment feature at that connector.