Logo

1973 Evinrude 40 Wonbt Start

troy_d

"This is my first time on this

"This is my first time on this site as I am relatively new to boating. I recently purchased an older boat equiped with a 1973 evinrude 40hp that hasn't been run in 8 years according to the previous owner. Prior to atempting to start the engine I cleaned and rebuilt the carb, replaced the fuel lines, cleaned the fuel filter and replaced the spark plugs but it just doesn't seem to want to run. A compression check showed 106psi on 1 cylinder and 104psi on the other. It also has good spark. If I pull the plugs and squirt a little fuel into the cylinders and try to start it it will sputter a few times and nothing more.This leads me to believe it is a carb problem but it has already been apart several times now with no apparent problems. Any insight into possible problems would be greatly appreciated."

The fuel pump has little to do

The fuel pump has little to do with starting a motor. Remove the plug for the high speed jet and pump your primer bulb.Fuel should pour out.Did you remove the highspeed jet ( brass ) for cleaning?.When the carburetor was off did you inspect reed valves for debris?

"The high speed jet is located

"The high speed jet is located in the bottom center portion of the float chamber. If you can't remove it, simply clean it with a piece of single strand wire. Fuel must flow thru that jet before it can flow to any other passageway.

(Carburetor Adjustment - Single S/S Adjustable Needle Valve)
(J. Reeves)

Initial setting is: Slow speed = seat gently, then open 1-1/2 turns.

Start engine and set the rpms to where it just stays running. In segments of 1/8 turns, start to turn the S/S needle valve in. Wait a few seconds for the engine to respond. As you turn the valve in, the rpms will increase. Lower the rpms again to where the engine will just stay running.