Logo

1972 Volvo 270 problem

oldvolvoboater

Hi Guys, I am trying to figure out how to post here, so bear with me!
I have a 1972 Glaspar 16' trihull that I purchased new. The boat has always run fine.
The whole family got into water skiing. We found, when sloalm (sp.) that it was hard to get up on a plane. We had to shift the load, just to make it easier. no one could ride in the rear. After a few years, I thought I could use more power. I had access to a '79 police car engine.( Chev 350 V-8 ). I recearched the job, and felt it would work. I made up an engine flywheel housing to couple to the Volvo out drive. I got marine manifolds, camshaft cover for the raw water pump, ( Neovane) , And made up front motor mounts. I had to change the outdrive gears for the V-8. and make the exhaust system.
The results where nothing short of great.
I have been running this boat for almost 30 years, with only occasional water pump problems.( new impeller etc. )
Well this year, I ran the boat on the trailer, before going on vacation. Every thing seemed fine. when we got to the lake, the daughter took my grandson out to ski and it ran fine. I asked her how it ran and she said " Just fine. running right at 140 degrees"
The next morning she took off from the dock,the wife ran down to bring her the kneeboard , witch they had forgot. She came back to the dock, to get the board, backed out to go. When she put it in gear " Bang ". you would not belive the noise!
Every thing looks fine. The noise is coming from the bell housing erea. You won't run it long because it sounds like someone with hammers triing to get out.
Well I am 82 years old now and not looking forward to taking any thing apart that I don't have to. Any ideas what has happened???
Art

Thanks for the reply braxton! I had one go when I had the 130 engine in it, but that was a grinding scraping noise.
I don't think it is u-joints or PDS bearing, as I had no previous noise.