Logo

1970 Johnson 40ES70A 40HP Outboard

osdsubzero

Hi Team

I am very new to boating and I acquired a 1970 johnson outboard 40hp. the motor runs fine, I am just having problems with overheating issues. I have changed the complete waterpump. I am starting to think maybe I have put the impeller backwards. but I am debating on that at the moment. I also noticed that when the engine is idling for 3-4mins there is alot of smoke coming from it, Maybe the fuel ratio not mixed properly I don't know. Does anyone have any information in regards to this motor, as I said this is my first boat and I just got my boat licence.

The motor will run fine on a 50:1 mix.-----Inspect the thermostat.---Found on top of the cylinder head.-----So is your overheat warning light coming on ?----Is it tested ?----Is it even installed on the boat ?----The smoke is quite normal.----And a lot of water vapor comes out the back at times.----That is often mistaken as overheating.

Where are you running it? Ona boat, on the lake? On muffs? In a bucket? It was built to run on a boat, on the lake.

I was running it in a bucket of water and the overhead red light came on. I then bought a 2 way ear muffs and also ran it on idle in a bucket of water, it didn't over heat at all and the greyish blue smoke stopped. I ran it for 15mins with out a problem not in gear by the way, the only thing that happened was the motor was missing and engine was bouncing but, I think it needs a good service on the carby. I also noticed that water was spitting out the exhaust and was warm.

The impeller MUST be submerged !!----6 or 8 " below the water level.------Too much air / exhaust in a bucket and the pump was never designed for that.