Logo

1964 Mercury 110 HELP FROM THE EXPERTS

Hey Guys,

I just picked up a 1964 Mercury 110 from a friend for a great price. He said it runs and is fully functional EXCEPT that it needs a new power pack. I can't find one of the life of me. Does anyone know 1. where to get one or 2. if I retrofit the power pack from a different or later motor?

It has new points, it came with the tank and a new one of the bayonet gas hook ups, I just can't find the pack and don't know how to proceed. Please help a complete novice with boat motors!

A 1964 motor has points under the flywheel not Thunderbolt CDI, check/post your serial Nr. to find the exact year or post some images. How can it run without an ignition system?

Last edited:
There is a problem with identification of your motor.----A 1964 does not have a powerpack.-----Motors with powerpack ( switch box ) do not have points.-----Pixtures needed to help you.

There is a problem with identification of your motor.----A 1964 does not have a powerpack.-----Motors with powerpack ( switch box ) do not have points.-----Pixtures needed to help you.

The serial number is 1703051, from my look up that is a 64 correct?

He said that the its "a slim pack that lives under the flywheel that needs replaced"

Do I have my terminology wrong?

Stop !!----It might just need breaker points cleaned and set to the correct gap.----A new magneto ( coil ) if you can find one is big $$$ at $160 each on this site.----.------Used parts are available.-----Your location ?

Last edited:
Stop !!----It might just need breaker points cleaned and set to the correct gap.----A new magneto ( coil ) if you can find one is big $$$ at $160 each on this site.----.------Used parts are available.-----Your location ?