Logo

115 evinrude e115tlct

neohiobass

"Hi, Two things maybe related.

"Hi, Two things maybe related. Im not a good mechanic when it comes to motors ect. I took my boat into the shop for hard starting and stalling at idle. He turned up the idle and said I had 60 psi on one of the cylinders . 110,110 100 on the others. He said spray cleanerin head and wait a day then run. He said maybe it will un stick rings or de carbon. Next day I took it to the lake and it the starter post and battery terminal melted! I took it back to him and he disconnected all the wires from the ignition switch. I thought that was strange but he said it may have stuck. Then he said it was caused from having the tilt trim leads going to a different battery than the motor starting leads. He sold me a new starter and I bought a new starter battery. Now I was going to check the compression and the kill switch wont work. Three lines coming off. Two are blk/yellow stripe and one is black. One of the b/y goes to ignition as well as black. I have not used the kill switch for a few years. Not sure when it went bad. Ignition is a omc push choke . Would the switch be wired wrong now to the igniton? Is there a color chart for the ignition or a Test for the kill switch. Its three wire kill switch part # ? Ps I have a 73-89 service manual on the way but was told it would be a week or two before it ships so thanks in advance for help. Ps I have been reading a lot of your posts about a homemade spark tester tester? I cant picture this to build. Any pics? Thanks again"

I took the kill switch out and

I took the kill switch out and cleaned it with contact cleaner and it started to work.