Logo

08 225 Surging at Fast Idle

gaffshot

"On my last trip I noticed a m

"On my last trip I noticed a mild surging on the digital tach of 100-150 rpm's at fast idle(1200-1800). It was confirmed by putting my ear up to the engine and hearing the subtle up and down revving.

It happened leaving the dock and on the way back from a 40+ mile trip.

At all other speeds no surging occured.

I dont know if its a non issue or something I need to address.

I have put only 55 hours on the engine and I am still learning its nuances.

Thanks in advance.
happy.gif
"

"I had the same issue with my

"I had the same issue with my '07 225. The dealer, who is very reputable, said that the surging is normal below 1000 rpm during warm up. This happened regularly for the first 80 hours or so, but after that, would not occur unless the engine had sat for a week or more. But I ramain a bit skeptical. Would like to hear from others who have looked into this issue."

"WD,
It happened when returni

"WD,
It happened when returning to port so it was fully warmed up and it also happened above the 1000 that your dealer stated.

Our symptoms look pretty similar."

"Just bringing it back to the

"Just bringing it back to the top.

3 trips and 19 hours later and surging has not changed. In fact during last trip it appeared to be somewhat worse with a greater change in rpm's.

Please advise Honda pro's.
happy.gif
"

"Your still on warranty I woul