Logo

No spark #2,3 & 4 on 75hp, 1986

leachy

Contributing Member
Hi All,

Im new to these older larger outboards but looking for advice. I purchased a Glastron V156 as a bit of a project. It was fitted with a 1986 75HP Merc in good condition. Started straight away from cold stopped and started a few times no issues, idled perfect. Towed it about 600miles (1000kms) home no issues smooth roads.

Went to start it at home a few weeks later and some how it has lost spark on cylinders 2,3 & 4. I assumed it was the trigger plate as when I took the flywheel off one of the wires had been replaced.

Still no spark. I have done the following

1. - swapped the wires on the low voltage side of the coil and spark will move with that so no coil issue.
2. - Moved the cylinder one wire to position 2 on the switch box and the spark moved to cylinder 2.

I will be checking the resistance on the stator tonight but if that has gone "belly up" wouldn't I loos spark on all 4 cylinders. Also can stators just go like that, or is there another issue which could cause that.

Thanks in advance.
Leachy

I have replaced the trigger plate and checked that the #2 trigger wire creates spark on the #1 spark when the wires are switch at the switch box.

I managed to check the stator I think correctly as described by disconnecting all the wires and checking the resistance. It seems that the blue to blue/white is correct but the red to red/white is more than double what is should be. spec is 56-76 ohms and Im measuring 146 ohms.

Strange how these things with no moving parts just stop working from one day to the next with only being towed home.

Regards
Leachy

If you have spark stator is working....either trigger is not telling switchbox to fire or switchbox is bad.