Logo

Pre alpha to alpha shift issues

Rick Baxter

Ok here's what I got 91 Bayliner with with 3 liter Mercruiser. Was shifting fine until I did a bellows and gimbal bearing replacements get it all back in and the shift cable of hanging up and making the motor stall. All good took it in and the shop points out I've got an pre alpha drive and they want to throw a gen 2 on it for about 2k. Seeing as I've got 3 k in the boat kinda wanna stay away. So I know I can mod the shift linkages to make my pre alpha work I'm assuming here the linkages are for a gen 1 which is what the boat should have started with or maybe a gen 2 is the linkages were changed when the new motor was put in. So does anyone know for have the links to the mods to make the pre alpha work with the 1 & or 2s. I know it's possible because I ran the boat before I did the bellows and it worked just fine.

There is no difference in pre alpha gen I and alpha Gen I or Gen II.
same part number for all
So that is Bull Sh!T

If you have a 91 the you have either a alpha 1 Gen I or Gen II '91 was the yeart they released the Gen II.

The difference is where the two half's (lower and upper) join together. The Gen II has 4 visible bolts and nuts 2 on each side. The Gen I does not. That simple.

The shift cable is the same for both
There is another thread right before/after this one with a complete explanation on how to adjust shift cable

Also if you did not have the drive in forward gear and the shift control in forward also that is an issue and are you sure you got the bell crank shift arm into the shift cable end correctly in the gimbal housing?.

Last edited: