Logo

1980 DT65 Propeller Fit Problems

colriverrat

Contributing Member
Hello I'm new to this boar

Hello I'm new to this board.
I just acquired a 1980 DT65. It was in a repair shop for a lower unit reseal. I paid $250 for the re-seal job and brought the motor home. The repair shop told me the propeller stop bushing was ripping up the prop shaft seal. I ordered the only prop stop bushing browns point marine listed for that motor.

The bushing is the same as the one on the motor. It will destroy the prop shaft seal if I install it. Are the bushings different for 1980? The part number sent to me was for a 1985 DT65. The parts person said this number superseded the 1980 part number.

Could the repair shop have incorrectly installed the prop shaft seal? The seal garter spring is facing the prop.

I've tied 3 times now I ca

I've tied 3 times now I cant get the file to load. If I make it any smaller the pic will be of such poor quality it'l be worthless.

"<[img]"http://www.marineengin

"
247459.jpg
Propeller Parts"">
Here are all the parts I have for the prop. The large silver washer is NOT part.
247460.jpg
prop stop bushing"">
This is the prop shaft seal side of the bushing that is causing all the greif"

"
247464.jpg
propand parts"">
This is all the parts I have to install the prop.
247465.jpg
installedprop"">
This is the installed prop. Note the gap between the prop and the lower unit. I'm sure the exhaust gas will exit at this gap and create more problems"

the seal could be bad

i wou

the seal could be bad

i would have them fixed i wih the prop in

looks like you have all the right parts

"looks like you have something

"looks like you have something on wrong

the silver washer, top left is where now on prop?

the black one with 4 tabs goes on the end of propshaft, this is what the lock washer is locked onto"

"I am a certified Auto Tech, I