Logo

Electrical issues

eeyore

"Hi guys, I am new to this boa

"Hi guys, I am new to this board and new to boating.
I recently bought my first boat, a 1987 17' VIP bowrider, it has a OMC Cobra I/O with a 120hp Ford 2.3L engine.

It hasn't been run since 2006, I have got it cleaned up and have changed the filters, plugs, points, impeller etc, using muffs I have started the engine and was really surprised how easily it started, just a few cranks and away it went, no problems at all.
happy.gif

The problem I do have is electrical, I think?
The Tachometer doesn't work... taking readings from the back of the Tach, I have a good 12v on the live and ground... 12v ground to sensor terminal and variable voltage live to sensor terminal ( changes with rpm ).

Also my Tilt and Trim gauge doesn't work, it moves slightly when the key is turned on, but no further movement as the tilt is operated.

Also voltmeter on console shows close to 18v at just above idle speed, I haven't checked voltage across the battery with the engine running, the battery is fully charged and when I bought the boat the previous owner said the battery is new!!!

I am wondering if the alternator is bad and whether that would cause all three problems?

I was hoping to get out and check the voltage across the battery this weekend, but here in Missouri and typically if ya wanna do something outside this time of year, we have rain and thunderstorms...

Any help you guys can give would be most appreciated.

Barry"

"What kind of alternator is it

"What kind of alternator is it? If it is a Motorola, look to see if it is grounded to the negative battery terminal."

"Not sure Kevin, its been too

"Not sure Kevin, its been too wet here for me to uncover it, there is a separate black wire that goes to a small terminal with a wingnut on the battery, would that be it ?