Logo

Starter mount holes

alreadygone

Contributing Member
"haven't been on this boar

"haven't been on this board in a while, but need advise.

Back in the summer had my 1998 5.7 Merc.(350 Chev) hydrolock. Pulled plugs, flushed with WD40. Solved original problem. Broke several teeth off of ring gear, starter ok. Finished out the season with starter sounding like hammered hell! Now that off season is here got excellent marine mechanic to pull engine and replace ring gear. MAIJOR problem is, he found crack in outside starter bolt mounting area of block! Bolt will still tighten and hold, starter sounds excellent. Technician says to run her till it breaks out (maybe never if it doesn't hydrolock again), but there's no way to repair block. As a lifelong welder I tend to agree, and run till it breaks on out is my personal inclination. Just wondering if anyone here knew of a sure fix?

Bob"

"All of that is true!!! It mig

"All of that is true!!! It might be game over. What a bummer. I might be tempted to put some JB Weld on the threads, snug down and lets er run.

You could add a pull start like a lawn mower..."

"You might want to routinely c

"You might want to routinely check the bolts tight... once a month or so. You know it's coming, don't let it surprise you."

""Just wondering if anyone

""Just wondering if anyone here knew of a sure fix?"

Ayuh,.....
Replacing the Block is the Only Sure Fix......"

"And now, a serious answer...

"And now, a serious answer...

A clever mechanic could make a stout strap for the front end of the starter to give it additional bracing.

Jeff"

"All replies greatly appreciat

"All replies greatly appreciated! Plan to continue use untill crack breaks on out and piece of block falls off.

Jeff's suggestion does need serious study. Know older small blocks used brace at rear of starter to block. If it was left off, starter nose piece would occasinally break.

Bob"

"So would the rear mounting bo