Logo

Unknown Gear Oil Leak

"I have a reasonably fast oil

"I have a reasonably fast oil leak emptying out my reservoir but I cannot see how or where. My 2000 Mariah Z238 5.7L has an Alpha 1 gen II recently imported from US with reservoir with no leaks visible along hose or at connectors at reservoir and at transom (all dry). The reservoir empties out in a few hours, but I cannot see where it is leaking out too. I completed an oil change and everything seems fine except the reservoir empties out on completion. No external leaks evident either. I ran it at home for over 30 mins with hose and earplugs and everything seems fine with forward and reverse gearing.
If anyone has any advice it would be much appreciated. thx"

"it has been mentioned on this

"it has been mentioned on this site to do a pressure test with the fluid in to see where it is leaking out, makes sense to me."

"also, I am no boat mechanic j

"also, I am no boat mechanic just guessing, but when you refilled the drive with lube did you fill it from the bottom fill hole just above the skeg until lube came out the vent then replace the vent screw and keep adding lube until it came up in the bottle then topped off the bottle, have seen people just fill lube thru the bottle and that traps lots of air making the fluid seem like its disappearing to nowhere."

"Ayuh,...[b]If[/b] you filled

"Ayuh,...If you filled it from the bottom as noted by gl115,...
I'd guess the input shaft seal is Gone,+ you'll find all the extra oil in the Bellows...

If you're trying to fill it through the bottle,...
You may have already done serious Damage to the gears/ bearings...."

"Thankyou for all of your thou