Logo

Correct Prop for OMC Engine

bully515

"Hi, just wandered if anyone c

"Hi, just wandered if anyone could help.. I've got a 1989 Sunbird Corsica with a 5.0L OMC inboard but I don't know the correct type of prop I should be running ??"

"Prop type and size depends on

"Prop type and size depends on what what you want to do with the boat. As a baseline, tell us what prop you have now and what your WOT (wide open throttle) RPMs are. Is the prop aluminum or SS? What diameter and pitch? (should be stamped on the prop) 3 blade or 4?"

"Wow thanks for the quick resp

"Wow thanks for the quick response, I'm new to all this forum stuff.. well we use the boat for wakeboarding built our own pole.. I'll have to look at the weekend as we bought the boat from someone but it didn't cum with any info.. I know it's currently got a 3 blade prop but also know this was added just before we bought it.. think the guy got it cheap and just threw it on.."

the correct prop is the prop t

the correct prop is the prop that puts your OMC 5L engine's rpm at wide open throttle between 4200 and 4600 rpm.
Any prop that doesn't acheive that can ruin your engine.

"ok, I've spent the whole

"ok, I've spent the whole day taking the leg off my boat.. In answer to some of the questions about the prop.. its got a 4 blade, SS & diameter 3 inches on it at the mo.. not sure what the pitch is as it doesn't have any info on it.. can someone tell me what the correct pitch should be ?"

The diameter is measured at th

The diameter is measured at the tip of the blades so it's hopefully a little bigger than 3". Only way to know if it's right for your boat is like Hystat said. You need need to run it and see what your WOT RPMs are. Should be in the 4200-4600 range. Above or below this range is not good for your engine.

ok thanks.. so there's no