Logo

74 L mercruiser EFI going into guardian mode

jboneezer

"After my engine is warm, it i

"After my engine is warm, it is going into guardian mode intermittently without an alarm. Put a tester on it and all the engine parameters are normal. Put a fuel tester on and pressure is normal. No codes showing. Alarm tests fine. Replaced temp and oil sensor, no help. Any ideas?"

"It runs fine all day long bel

"It runs fine all day long below 2500 RPM. When running above 2500, it will start running rough until I pull the throttle back to a setting that is below 2500. I can't think of a situation other than RPM reduction (guardian mode) that would cause this. It seems to me that if it were an ignition problem, it would occur at all RPM's. It has been suggested to me that it might be the ECM computer. I should also tell you that I am not a mechanic, just the owner. My description of this problem to a boat mechanic is where I got my idea that it is going into this mode. He said it limits the motor to 2500."

"Try new fuel filters; may be

"Try new fuel filters; may be starvation.
snow.gif
"

What year do you have? Are yo

What year do you have? Are you the original owner? What fuel system service/repairs have ever been performed?

The TPS (Throttle Position Sensor) could be on the fritz. The fuel pump and/or relay could be on their last legs. The wiring to the fuel pump on some models uses an in-line "quick connector" that can corrode; one fella had it happen to him recently. There may be some corrosion on the inside of the engine barrell plug. Same goes to all sensors and the computer conectors.

"It is a 1999. I have been go

"It is a 1999. I have been good about having annual services done, which includes fuel filters. Although I missed the last annual service and it has now been two years since this has been done. No other fuel related work has been done."

"First, go here, [url=""]http:

"First, go here, http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=251571