Logo

AQ130C over heating and TachDwell Problems

boating_bob

"I am new to the discussion bo

"I am new to the discussion board, I have been searching for answers to two problems. I just completed a complete engine rebuild of my AQ130C Volvo engine. One problem is that the engine temp runs at 160deg below 1500rpm as soon as I bring the speed up (under load) the temp rises to about 200 + degrees. I have checked the thermostat (ok) the sea water filter is clean and the pump impeller is new. I noticed that the head and block have elongated holes for the water and the head gasket has round holes, could this be my problem (restricting water flow) I removed the exaust manafold and cleaned it, found a lot of scale (I have not lake tested since). Any Ideas? My second problem is setting the dwell. I do not have the manual for this boat. Does the dwell meter connect across the coil (+ and -) or from the coil "-" and to the block. 61 degrees seems to keep the coil on most of the time when the dwell meter is connected from the coil "-" to the block."

"Re: overheating: check the ho

"Re: overheating: check the hose connector in the outdrive (looks like a thermostat housing). Disconnect the hose, and if the connector is corroded, replace it, as it may be perforated and causing the pump to suck air once the boat is on the plane (this is a very common cause of overheating problems in Volvo Penta older outdrives). You can finde the Sierra aftermarket part in the following link:

http://www.marineengine.com/parts/part_details.php?pnum=SIE18-2778&returntopage= 80240788.htm

If you found a lot of scale in your exhaust manifold, I think you should consider taking it to a radiator shop and "boiling" it. That would clear any obstruction it may have.

To test the points dwell angle, connect the + lead of the meter to the (-) of the coil, and connect the (-) of the meter to ground."

Thank you for the quick respon