Logo

318 water in oil %3cIMG SRC%3d%22httpwwwmarineenginecomdiscusclipartsadgif%22 ALT%3d%22%22 BORDER%3d0%3e

p12

"I have recently purchased a 1

"I have recently purchased a 1971 32' Marinette with twin Chrysler 318s (225) w/raw water cooling. It has been stored covered since August 2004. I do not know how/if it was winterized.

The port engine oil is milky. I obviously suspect it's water. I put a sample of the oil on a q-tip and tried to light it, It popped like a candle would after sitting outside in the rain. The starboard engine seems fine and shows no signs of water in the oil after being run.

I am new to the 318 and fairly inexperienced with marine engines:

-Any suggestions on what to look at first?
-Common problems; any items/gaskets that are easy/cheap and should be done first, before pulling manifolds and heads?

The boat is currently on the hard at a yard. I don't want to pay to have it launched and find out that the block needs to be replaced and have to pay to have it pulled, but with that being said, I am limited to work I can do on it in the yard since I have no water source to hook to.

Thanks for your time and suggestions
, looking forward to getting another great summer on the water.

-Mike Patterson"

"You might try using compresse

"You might try using compressed air, 5 to 7 psi to verify an internal leak. Plug the exits, open the oil filler and listen for escaping air. Also, perform a compression test all cylinders.
DS"

"You can also run it off a hos

"You can also run it off a hose until it comes up to temperature. Change the oil, then run it for at least a half hour. You'll then know.

Good luck! I just blew up one of my 360s.

Jeff"

"Bummer on blowing the 360 Fas

"Bummer on blowing the 360 FastJeff. I look forward to replacing the 318s with 360s eventually (though not yet), my 32 Marinette express convertible should GET IT
biggrin.gif