Logo

Water pump on a 95

roeboat

"I would like to begin by stat

"I would like to begin by stating that this is my first time here and that I hope to glean valuable knowledge from many of the experienced member of this board. Thank you in advance.

The situation that I have is with a 1973 Johnson 9.5 engine. To make a long story short, or perhaps longer, I purchased the engine non- running, with very little prior history other than it did run at some point in time. I have a fair amount of mechanical knowledge, and was able to trouble shoot the engine and get it to run however in a test tank, I noticed that it was not pumping water. Okay simple- change the impeller. Which after a long struggle; three days of soaking the piece with penetrating oil and several twisted off screws, I able to dislodge the pump housing.

I was able to clean it replace all of the seals and gaskets; replace the metal plate and the impeller. So far, so good. But this is where the problem really begins. I did not pay close attention on how the water line- copper tube that carries the water from the pump to the engine, fitted into the upper unit. I can see where the passage is, where the shift linkage comes out and the water tube goes in, but I do not see how it mates up to the engine to force the water through the cooling jackets. I have a manual, and have gone to the OEM website, but do not see on any of the diagrams how the two match up. I have tried to spy it through the driveshaft hole, but it is so small that I cannot detect any thing. I did not want to dissemble the outer cowling and remove the exhaust housing for fear of twisting off more bolts.

So the question is this, how do the two fit together? Thank You."

"Well now , I believe you need

"Well now , I believe you need to remove the powerhead in order to properly fit the water tube. Come to think of it you HAVE to remove the powerhead to fit the tube."

"Thanks Ikia. I was hoping no