Logo

Motor Will Not Idle

Deweyc66

Hello all I am new to this so please be patient with me. I have a 1992 Evinrude 60HP Model E60TLENE that will not idle. It starts fine and will run good if I have the high idle lever up or running it on the water at higher throttle. In neutral or low speed it will die. I purchased this motor last April from a dealer. He told me he rebuilt the carbs, put on a new starter, new water pump and fresh oil in lower unit. The VRO has been deleted. I purchased a manual and have done every step in the link and sync procedure up to setting the idle timing. I have the carbs set to the initial low speed setting per the manual. I thought I would check to see if anything I had done so far had helped but did not. Any ideas. Thank You

Step # 1 is to post the compression test numbers.------And does the tell tale hose come off the side of the block ?----Or does it come off the top of the block ?

Are the 3 throttle plates closed at idle ?----Does spark jump a gap of 3/8" or more ?----Thermostat in place?-----Flywheel key sheared ?

Sounds like maybe the idle SPEED (RPM) screw many not be set high enough.
I do not have the idle adjustment screw on my motor. It has an idle timing adjustment screw located under the flywheel, is this what you are talking about. I am a first time boat owner and know very little about outboard motors but I am trying to learn as I go so I can hopefully fix things vs spending a thousand dollars every time I take it to the shop.

Are the 3 throttle plates closed at idle ?----Does spark jump a gap of 3/8" or more ?----Thermostat in place?-----Flywheel key sheared ?
Throttle plates are closed at idle. Dont know how to check spark jump. Have not checked t-stat or flywheel key. I know very little about outboard motors but trying to learn.