Logo

Johnson 15hp won't pee, water pump is good... Help a Newbie!!

Phunkie99

I'm a total newbie to outboards, but I've immersed myself into it to learn (I tend to do that with new hobbies). I just bought a Jon boat with 1983 Johnson 15hp (J15RCTA) seems to run fine except nothing comes out of the tell tale (pee hole)... Nothing. It ran on muffs when I bought it and figured maybe bad water pump or it just needed to be submerged. Got it home stuck it in a clean garbage can with water well above the intake holes. Still nothing. I took the lower unit off to look at the water pump, and impeller was in good shape no cracks or uneven spaced blades, shaft rotates. I took the hose off from the pee hole to the block it was clogged, cleared it and the hole itself... Still nothing. I just tried spraying water up the copper tube and blowing air in it water came out the exhaust and air could pass. Stuck a tube against the pee hole and tried to blow air in, and no air would pass so I think my blockage is in the block somewhere. What should I do next? Any help would be greatly appreciated for this lost rookie.

I a relative newbie... I put my '87 Merc 8 hp in garage six week ago after a successful day. No fish, but motor ran well and peed fine. All told motor ran start stop 30 minutes while I kept checking tell tale. Tis was a test running.
After six weeks, I started in a full tub of water and it did not pee after several attempts. Never let it run over 10 seconds from a cold start.
Tube from thermostat outlet is clear. I pulled the cover, discovered there is no thermostat in the engine. I started to see if water was circulating up - 10 seconds, no water flow. I've checked the lower screen intake and do not see any clog. I bought it as a fully rebuilt in March. Only had it in the lake the once described above.
Thanks

Is my next step to drop the lower unit to check the impeller?