Logo

DF90a wont start

douglasdm

Hi. I am a new member and a first time boat owner.

I bought a pontoon boat over the summer. It came with a 2011 Suzuki DF90a engine. We used the boat almost every day for a month with no issues.

We noticed we had water in our lower unit and after 6 weeks it took to get the parts and special tools we needed to replace the seals we took it out and had a nice day on the water.

The following weekend, we cranked the engine before we hooked up the truck and after idling for a minute or so, the revs dropped and then it died. It sounded like it ran out of gas. Now, when we turn the engine over, it hits on a cylinder or two and then just turns over until we stop cranking it.

Like I said earlier, I am a newb at boats and outboards as well as fuel injection.

What are some of the simple things I am probably overlooking. In my experience, most issues with cars and motorcycles wind up being simple things but it takes experience to know where to look.

Thanks in advance!

Can you hear the high pressure fuel pump with the key on, not running? Should hear the pump run for 3-4 seconds as soon as you turn the key to on. Condition of fuel filter? Pick up any water in the fuel? Low pressure fuel pump moving fuel into the VST? You mention no alarms so I assume none were triggered.

Can you hear the high pressure fuel pump with the key on, not running? Should hear the pump run for 3-4 seconds as soon as you turn the key to on. Condition of fuel filter? Pick up any water in the fuel? Low pressure fuel pump moving fuel into the VST? You mention no alarms so I assume none were triggered.

Thanks for your response.

New fuel filter.

Fresh gas in the tank.

New fuel water separator.

I can hear a "pressurizing" sound coming from behind the intake manifold when I switch on the key, that would be the high pressure pump from what I understand.