Logo

AD41B exhaust smoke & sooting

Jeff Cowley

Hi, My 35 foot Riviera powered by twin AD41Bs is smoking heavily from the port engine & covering the boat in black soot.

I have just aquired the boat & sailed across Bass Straight (approx 23 hours) & noticed the problem worsened during the journey.

The previous owner has replaced the turbo, reconditioned the head & fitted new injectors to the engine.
I am new to these engines & diesels particularly & am seeking advise as to where to start to remedy the problem.
I have removed the air filter & the turbo spins freely & appears to a novice to be clean.
The pipe from the turbo to that aftercooler is also clean.

Refuelled after the first 2 hours running & used 57 litres per hour (both engines) cruising at 12 knots, 3200rpm & flat seas.
Expected to use approx 40 litres per hour. The engine didn't use any oil on the journey & the problem seems to be with the fuel system.

All & any advice would be appreciated.

57lph seems a little high for a pair of 200's running at those rpms, but I don't know that those engines are particularly efficient. As a comparison I cruise my 43ft game boat at 18knts and 80lph with twin 330 common rail engines. i.e. more efficient (lpNM) than your 35 Riv with twin 200's. Those older Rivs weren't known to be an overly efficient hull design, but even so your 57lph sounds a bit expensive. As another comparison, our 36ft sport cruiser with twin KAD32 (170hp) cruises at 40 - 45lph and 22knts. I think 40lph may be optimistic for the Riv, and maybe ~50lph more likely.