Logo

65 hp Mercury outboard bogs under load

drivewayguy

I just purchased a boat with what i believe a 1975 mercury outboard.

The motor starts and revs up nice in neautral, when you engage it and try to punch it just goes oh about 8 MPH.

I chaneged the plugs really really good spark,

Compression in Top Cylinder is 135 psi the bottom two are at 130 psi so that is good

So i have good spark good compression and i have fuel delivery at least for good idle, i tried running some carb cleaner through and it mad a differenc in the idle stage immididate response when you give it gas but still no go when i put it under load.

I am thinking maybe dirty carbs but they look really clean however i am no mechanic just picked up a lot of stuff over the years.

Any ideas as to what i could look for now, or any links to show how to clean the carbs on those motor`sÉ

All help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks Don

If those are the cvarbs that bolt to the block with long bolts from the front, you need to remove the bowls and clean out the tiny passage in the bottom that feeds fuel to the idle circuit.

The video below reveals how badly the motor "takes gas" when just one of those carbs need cleaning. Note how it reacts towards the end of the video.

http://www.youtube.com/user/57Fastjeff?blend=20&ob=5

Jeff

Last edited:
If nothing else, run some seafoam through the engine with some fresh gas. You really shoudl consider pulling the carbs and cleaning them. how big of a boat are you pushing? And how much are you willing to try yourself? Fuel pump diaphram might have holes. Fuel filter might be dirty.

I wonder, does gas really go bad because i topped of the fuel that was in there already it took only ten litres to fill it. Could this cause my issue.

I am going to put all fresh gas in it today and try it out.

If it does not work then i am pretty confident in trying to take the carbs off and try to clean them if i can get some kind of instructions to take them off.