Logo

1996 90 hp Evinrude acceleration issue

bocephus1369

I am having an issue with my motor. It seems to start fine and idles decently, but when I give it some throttle, it will go at slow speeds. At about half throttle, it will sputter like it wants to go, but bogs down. Increasing the throttle further will cause it to die out. I did notice that pushing the key in while accelerating will allow it to get up to full speed and will run fine until I stop. Then it dies and I have to start and repeat. I have replaced the plugs and the wires and did not see any fuel leaks. The fuel filter looks fine. I have very little mechanical experience and this is my first outboard engine. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Trouble shooting is required here.-----------Start with a compression test to establish the overall condition of the engine.------Then check for strong spark on each cylinder.-------------If the engine sat for any length of time with fuel in the carburetors , then carburetors may be partially plugged.-------------Having to use the primer ( bypassing carburetors ) to get it to run properly indicates a carburetor problem.

Thanks for the response! Please forgive my ignorance, but I have a few questions. It is a 1996 Sunbird Spirit 170 17'. According to the specs for the boat and motor, it gets up to the max speed of 33 MPH at about 4800 RPM's after using the primer to get up to full speed. It will continue at full speed with no problems until I pull back the throttle. Would it be able to reach and maintain this speed with a compression or spark issue? If it is a carb issue, would I have to rebuild with a kit or can I use SeaFoam or some Johnson/Evinrude Tuner spray to clean? Thanks!