Logo

Tilt trim

david_r

Advanced Contributor
1979 johnson 115-115tl79r. i

1979 johnson 115-115tl79r. i am an auto mechanic and ive never been inside a tilt trim unit. its leaking around the trim posts it bleeds off slooow but it bleeds off nonetheless can i just replace the seals or o-rings at the posts or do i need to rebuild the whole thing? will i need special tools or just take it to a reputable shop?

SELOC manual for your year mod

SELOC manual for your year model should walk you through the rebuild process easy enough. If You have enough mechanic experience it should not require many specialty tools or experience if you are mechanically enclined.

If one is not so mechanically

If one is not so mechanically inclined what would parts and labor probably run to replace the power trim unit on a 1985 johnson 70 hp..in Florida panhandle area....at least a good guess...have found a decent boat rig and this seems to be the only real issue.

"I found kits for mine for 16-

"I found kits for mine for 16-22$ depending on brand and where you look. have no idea about labor costs, lots of parts inside though. i found a diagram on boats.net, but not a step by step instruction. im going to buy a book and maybe with a little luck and a lot of patience it will work out. rebuilt tilt/trim units about 800$. cmc makes an after market for 500-600$, but i read jwbmarine and another guy discussing added stress from change in the fulcrom point."

"that would only be an issue,w

"that would only be an issue,w/an already weakend transom.on a good solid transom,that is not a problem at all."

where would you look to see i

where would you look to see if maybe you have a weak transom. my boat is a 1978 venture rendezvous 3.

"with your eng tilted up,....g

"with your eng tilted up,....grab the lower unit,and put some body weight on it,back and forth,trying to flex transom.,look for splitting on corners,cracks etc."

thanks for the info. if it doe