Logo

VP DP-S chatter in Neutral

Homelite

I'd like some help from a qualified VP tech that knows these drives inside and out. I don't need beginner 101 mechanical advise! I'm a certifed ASE auto tech and I understand where my noise is coming from. What I don't know is the cause and fix (if any). This is what I need help with from a marine tech that knows these drives. I have a 2000 Four Winns Vista Cruiser. Bought with 100 hrs 2 years ago. Now it has 360 hrs on it. This noise has been present since I bought it. I feel this is a quality drive, but it bugs me because it sounds like a piece of (*&%@) debris at idle.

Condition: At idle in neutral only, rattling, clanking, clattering, noise you can hear in the boat. If you run it on the trailer with the flusher, and place your ear on the upper gearcase you can tell this is the source. Drop drive in F or R and noise goes away (due to load). More noticable in warmer water and after long runs (89.5 degree in Chesapeake Bay this past weekend). I've used VP factory Syn oil and other brands. Always syn 75w90 GL-5 as per the book. No oils been any better or worse. This noise is not gimble or U joint related.

My thoughts:
1. Upper gear set noise, but why? Not shimmed properly? Needs reshimmed due to break in?
2. Cone clutch (and/or it's linkage components) rattling when just sitting there in the N
position?

Seems to be one of the two! I really don't think anything is ready to fail. My friend has one that does this as well (not quite as loud as mine). Would 75w140 gear oil help? I see VP recommends this for their larger drives, DP-G and DP-H drives.

Thanks in advance. I'd pull this apart if I had some insight on what the cause is. I know I'm in the right ball park, I just need the right seat! Hopefully one of you is a good VP tech that sees this issue and can point me in the right direction. Maybe it's normal and I'm wasting my time.