Logo

Seeking assistance with Mercury outboard 25HP, detached from boat

ejlion

Hello. I have a lot of experience with small engines, but am a total newbie to boat motors.

I detached my friend's boat motor and took it elsewhere to try to get it running. I'm realizing this may have been a mistake, as this means it doesn't have the wiring harness with the thick pins, throttle, ignition, etc.

With another friend's help, we've cleaned out the engine, filter, have fuel and spark, but can't get the engine to turn over. We're thinking it's because of the ignition, choke, throttle, etc.

I've attached a photo of the harness pins and another with some information about the motor.

I'm hoping someone can tell me...

- is it stupid/hopeless to work on this away from the boat? should I re-attach it before doing anything else?

OR

- is there a way to hotwire/trick this motor into thinking it has ignition/permission to start - either by jumpering something on the harness, or the motor itself?

We DO have "ear muffs"

Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you.

braintoss-2021-08-24-18-41-36-image.jpgbraintoss-2021-08-24-18-49-07-image.jpg

It does not need the harness to run, you have spark and fuel so unless it has low compression or some other fuel issue; water, plugged passages in the carb, etc. it will run. You need the harness to start it with the electric start and to shut the engine off with the keyswitch. You will need to choke the engine to shut it off or flip the emergency stop switch on the front side of the engine. Does it have a manual starter on the engine? If so, pull it over... If it only has electric start, jump the starter with cables and a 12 volt battery.