Logo

performance #'s for honda 1994 225 hp

Mikestyger1

Well i got to open it up yesterday and the water was like glass...for most of the time. It's a 2004 BF225Honda on a 25ft proline sport. Went 35 miles one way in glass, had a storm hit and turned the water choppy, left the engine on for about 45minutes, and did the next 37 miles back to the ramp in a light chop.
I got 2.3 mpg
Total distance was 72 miles
Used 31.3xxx gallons
Top speed at 6000 rpms with 3 guys and full tank was 36mph
crusining speed of 30 @ 5000
I'm still learning how to use my trim tabs so I may get better numbers after I learn that.
I am hoping to get up to the stated 3mpgs with this honda, but not sure if that's possible. Anyone else have numbers for me to compare to? Thanks

Re: performance #'s for honda 225

My C-Hawk 25 (9'6"beam, modified V hull, just like a Parker 25) has a similar performance, but I'm getting right at 3.0 MPG at 4200 rpm. That is the peak of the performance curve. At 6000 rpm (WOT) my efficiency drops down to about 2.0 mpg. I assume your outbound trip was near WOT and you stated that your return trip in a light chop was at 5000 rpm. So, given the load you were carrying, and the rpm's you were making, that 2.3 mpg is very good.

On my boat, top speed at WOT is just shy of 40 mph. However, with 3 men onboard and a full tank, your 36 mph is about what I would expect to get.

Once you are up on plane and cruising, it's best to raise your trim tabs up all the way unless you are porpoising or your weight distribution is badly off. Then, at constant rpm, play with your motor trim to maximize speed. On my boat, setting the motor trim one notch above the gauge mid-point is optimal. If you are porpoising, then lower your trip tabs the absolute minimum to get it to stop.

Also, make these measurements using GPS speed. The Honda pitit speed pick up is notoriously inaccurate and prone to clogging. And, transducer mounted water wheels tend to not be very accurate at higher speeds.