Logo

new owner 1990 Carver with Volvo Penta outdrive

wesleyj

does anyone know where i can purchase some used parts for a 1990 carver with a volvo penta outdrive it appears i need a suspension h fork (boat has trim) and a steering helment i am new to boating and not sure where to turn for help i would greatly appreciate any help or advice thanks

Re: new owner

scroll up this page - see where it says "free classifieds"...
You can post a wanted ad there for free.

This is called a "suspension fork" (aka "main suspenion fork").... misnomerly referred to as an "H" bracket.

In 1990, Volvo Penta was still offering some of the so called "Small Pin" 290 drives. This is NOT the actual drive designation.
You'll need to be clear as to which drive you have.
Easiest method is to see how the hydraulic cylinders attach to the suspension fork.
If the cylinders attach to a SS hinged bracket, then this suspension fork will work.
This would be the early style that has the latch unit.

If the cylinders attach directly to the suspension fork (no latch unit), then this would be one of the "C" and later drives...... but doubtful.

There are some being offered on e-Bay occassionally.
Just make sure that you purchase the correct one.

Also be very careful when removing the pivot tube.
These are relatively soft, and can become damaged easily..... (upper and lower end surfaces being very important to NOT damage).
Great time to re-seal the drive, replace bellows, water neck fitting, and even the shift cable since the clamp is more accessible.

Do your pressure/vacuum "leak-down" test before pulling the drive apart (oil drained, of course).

Post some photos of your drive. It will help in determining which one you have. :)

Sorry for the off-topic post but are the pits I see on the above pics due to salt water corrosion? Wow...am I ever glad I boat in fresh water! :)

Wesley, you've got some serious corrosion going on there, my friend.