Logo

M440 Lifters

noelct

Regular Contributor
I have a lifter noise in my M440 that I haven't been able to cure with oil change and witches brew remedies. I am now committed to replace lifters. Question: Is there any difference between automotive 440 lifters and marine? My experience with marine would say no, but I have no crossover experience with 440 auto. Any recommendations for most economical quality brand of lifters. My research showed that "Johnson" was a major manufacturer and supplier to other name brands. I'll likely purchase from a local hot-rod shop, rather than AutoZone type stores. Thanks for help, Noel.

I'm not aware of any difference. Make sure you pay attention to the orientation of the rocker shafts and individual rockers. Mark them before disassembly. They will only work correctly if reinstalled correctly. I've seen Summit Racings brand for three bucks a hole and Jegs has Mopar Performance for eight. Do you get what you pay for? Lots to choose from. Don't forget the break in lube. You may also want to check each rockers push rod ball socket and valve tip area as these will be wear areas that will add to valve clatter. Take a good look at all the cam lobes for wear or scuffing.

Noel, are your 440 rocker arms adjustable in that you can properly set the cam follower (aka lifter) hydraulic plunger depth?
The goal is to set the plunger at XX distance between full bottom out and full top out.

IOW, new followers may not necessarily cure your issue if the plungers are topping out causing valve stem/rocker arm noise from excessive clearance.

Just a thought!