Logo

Looking for some help with 280 outdrive...

vladens

Hello, everyone! New to this forums; was referred here by someone...

I'll try to make a long story short... I bought a 86 Bayliner Capri with AQ125B on Craigslist, that later turned out to be "not as advertised". According to seller I only needed to get 1 part that would connect steering to outdrive to make this boat working; and besides that only finish little interior work. After fixing ignition, finding water in crankcase, finding fuel tank full of water, then cleaning and fixing everything I got the engine running.
Now I'm trying to get the outdrive working. I'm new to these I/O motors, and relatively new to boating in general. So far I figured out that original 270 outdrive has been swapped with 280. Drive shaft was already connected, I just had get clamp for the rubber boot... and for exhaust boot too. I figured out how to connect the shifter cable, just had to get couple small parts.

Now, the real pain-in-the-a** was getting the right parts connect steering. New parts seems like they're made out of gold because they cost insane amount of money. So, I've picked some parts on eBay. I went through 2 yokes, 2 helmets & 3 different shoulder bolts to find what will fit. I think I still need some sort of bushing that fits between the helmet and the shoulder bolt, right? Because the way it sits now it seem a bit loose. Can someone help me figure out what part number bushing I need?

My shoulder bolt is #832716. 832716.jpg
Couple of different bushings I found on parts list are 814641 814641.JPG(it doesn't look right because it has threads) and 839697 839697.jpg(not sure about this one either because it is curved).

Maybe it would be easier for to figure this out if I could find a parts fiche for 280.... When I look up AQ125B motor it only shows me 270. Can someone tell me what motor was 280 paired with originally?

Thanks!