Logo

LM318 Starter Issue

RosieB12

Hi folks ... I'm a newbie, so bear with me. (b.t.w. - I tried getting registered on Marinette Boat Forum, but can't seem to stay logged in.)

Now ... my new (old 1988) Marinette 32 flybridge is in the water. Chrysler LM318 engines ran well after launch for about 30 minutes and I got her into the slip. I replaced two gunky fuel filters (filled them, but forgot to otherwise prime engine). Port engine started fine & runs well. Starboard engine began to turn over, but then I got a very LOUD SCREECHING sound and the engine was not cranking. Screeching stopped only when I turned off the ignition. I believe this is a starter motor breakdown? Any other thoughts? Is replacement as easy as just (1) disconnecting battery leads, (2) removing the two bolts, and (3) sliding out and replacing the starter?

Also... the port engine has an ID plate in place with ID numbers indicating LEFT prop rotation, and a symbol on top of the block that seems to show CW rotation. My starboard (troubled) engine has no ID plate anywhere, but the symbol on top seems also to show CW rotation. Is it possible (likely) that both engines have CW rotation? I know a replacement starter will need to match THAT rotation, right? Thanks... BILL

The starter drive sounds like it's slipping and needs to be replaced. (That's a reverse rotating motor, so you need the correct starter for it.) Removal is simple--two bolts. I suggest you get it rebuilt at a reliable rebuilder--cheapest way, and you know it'll fit. I have one in Allentown, PA if you want to use them. They accept mail in starters.

Jeff

Thanks, Jeff. I was hoping to make contact since you seem to be "The Man" when it comes to all things Marinette. Yes, I'd love to have the name, address, phone, web...whatever...for your rebuilder. Thanks for being such a GREAT resource. BILL

Glad to help! These are good people who do a good job and don't rob you blind:

Park Manor Sales and Service
915 Greenleaf St.