Logo

Land run 2017 BF60A

GlennG2759

I recently inherited a boat with a Honda BF60A engine. It’s been sitting in South Carolina since July ‘23. I planning on changing plugs, dumping oil, cleaning fuel tank, and filter/separator. My question is what is the procedure for running out of the water. I’ve flushed via the hose bib in the motor, but the owners manual say do not run the engine during this. Pardon my ignorance I’m new to boating but is there another way I can run this motor out of water just see how it runs. Thanks.

Others will probably disagree with me but, in my opinion, the safest way to run an outboard on land is in a trashcan full of water.

There are devices called "muffs" (like ear muffs) that you connect to a garden hose and put the muffs over the water pump inlet screens. They do work and I've used them myself but they have to fit perfectly and not leak.

Some outboards have water inlets in addition to the ones that the muff ears cover. You need to know about those and tape them shut or you risk destroying the pump and cooking your engine. As a result, I prefer and recommend the "test tank" or trashcan method.

Using the trashcan you still need to understand that the outboard lower end be submerged so that the anti ventilation plate is at least about 2 or 3 inches under water for proper water intake depth.

You also have to limit the time you run in a tank so that the water doesn't get hot from the engine's exhaust. Either that or constantly add cool water while closely monitoring the temperature.

A big advantage to running in a tank vs. muffs is that it gives you an accurate indication of how the waterpump is performing. You won't get that by force feeding water into the pump via the muffs.

Good luck.

Others will probably disagree with me but, in my opinion, the safest way to run an outboard on land is in a trashcan full of water.