Logo

Johnson VRO 90 - 3K rpm at full throttle

rburke

Good morning all. I have a Johnson 90 VRO Model No. J90TLESB, 90 HP When operating in gear at full throttle it is getting barely 3000 rpm. If I run it out of gear it easily hits 5k, but in gear its 3k. Do i need to have it looked at by a mechanic? It seems to run great, no sputtering, starts right up, it sounds good. I am just concerned about those RPMs, and we never topped 15 mph. The motor is on a 2000 Aqua Patio AP240. Thank you very much.

Revving in neutral means nothing !----It will do that on 3 of 4 cylinders.----Start with a compression test.-----Then a spark check.-----Is VRO in service or mixing at 50:1 in your tanks.----How did this motor run for you last year ?

I just bought the boat a few weeks ago so not sure how it ran last year. VRO seems to be working fine. I am a complete newbie in this world of boating and engines, but I am a DIYer and take on projects all the time. We bought this boat knowing it was a project. I will figure out how to do a compression test and see what that shows. Thank you!

These motors are famous for broken piston rings.--------Lots of new boat owners learning in these pandemic times I say.

Thanks for the info. yep we are learning this new world in the pandemic! As good a time as any, everyone starts somewhere :)

Just a follow-up on this, if it had a broken piston ring or some other cylinder compression issue, would it run like crap? Sputtering, smoking, etc? I see none of that on this motor. I agree that a compression test is the first step, been researching out there and thats what I have to do. I just hope I can do it while its in the water.