Logo

johnson 33 hp, drive shaft/lower shift rod ?

tictok

Hi, I am new to outboard motor repair,but mechanically inclined I have a johnson service manual but they are short on details, doing a long to short shaft conversion, I have standard shaft/shift rod for swap out, 5" extension case removal,and I need to cut water tube 5", shifter is in neutral..etc. going to replace water pump, questions are
1) after removing prop should i lock in prop shaft 'pinion gear' when removing drive shaft for alignment/ easier installing new driveshaft.
2) lower shift rod removal, in manual diagram there is a pivot pin, is this retaining the shift rod in the gear case, or does shift rod thread into shift linkage. do i have to open gearcase for shift rod removal, in resetting shift rod height adjustment, what is the measurement
3) in doing this conversion are there any steps i am missing, alignment issues,seals or o-rings, internal oil/grease, that should be replaced during the swap of parts, the manual is great but the devil in the details may not be in print. 'Also if anybody can recomend a more in depth service manual, more like a pro series ? appreciate your time and help David