Logo

Johnson 1968 TRL-10S WONT START need help badly

kevin.holland1

Hey everyone!
I need help with my outboard that I have very little knowledge about. I hope this is the right thread for this post and I hope any who see this can offer me help. Here’s the background story:
I bought a Renken boat with a nice-ish trailer and a Johnson 55 hp. The guy was unable to start the boat in front of us, so I got this the price to 300 bucks. The guy told me it had been a year since he started it. He re wired the whole thing because some mice got in there and ruined the wires. the down side, ALL the wires are GREEN! I have no idea if they are right or not. The next morning I got up, checked the oil in the lower unit, flushed some water out of the carburetors , and looked over the generally confusing wiring mess.
The motor is a 55 hp Johnson outboard. 1968. Model number: TRL-10s. if I have the correct info, the model and serial number are still visible.
So…. The confusion…. He had a junk battery on it, I felt it wasn’t turning nearly fast enough, I went out and bought a marine battery for 110 bucks, and she turns over like crazy! But, the engine wouldn’t start. I took the plugs out, looked for spark, saw nothing. Took the fly off, went and looked at the points, the spacing is .010. Cleaned them off with a light file, wiped them, put it all back together, and still no fire. He had two wires that came from the rectifier – part 43. See link.