Logo

Interesting timing conundrum-AQ131A

film842

Contributing Member
After months of engine work replacing bits and pieces, I finally was able to give my boat a good run and it seems to be running very well. However, I'm new to power boating and so I have to check all my assumptions against those who have experience.

Here's the odd bit: Base timing on my engine is supposed to be 8 degrees BTDC. At that setting, it does not run very well at all. When I advance the throttle, it chokes and dies. If I set my base timing to around 14 degrees BTDC, she runs like a champ...literally. Starts immediately and runs great at speed. Or at least it seems so to me.

It has been suggested on the Bayhliner forum that I check timing at speed and should find 32 - 36 degrees and I will do that.

However I don't want to harm my engine even though it seems to be running fine. Anybody have any thoughts on this?

If you have points and condenser, you may want to check the dwell and also make sure that the timing belt is installed correctly and the ignition leads go to the correct spark plugs. Also, you may want to check that your timing light does not have an "advance" feature that could be giving a false reading.

Mike, I read your thread on the BOC.
Several things to note regarding mechanical advance and ignition timing regarding BASE advacne and TA.

BASE is BASE.... no mechanical advance taking place.... it's just a locked in advance by nature of where the distributor housing is in relationship to the crankshaft, and when turned at an RPM below where any "Centrifugal" advance is occuring.
If weights and springs are all good, this keeps the distributor in BASE mode, so to speak.

Mechanical advance is what occurs within the distributor's centrifugal mechanical mechanism, and is above and beyond BASE!
Done via weights, cams, springs, etc.

If the mechanical mechanism is NOT able to offer the advance nessary, then BASE must be increased to achieve TA.... but this throws BASE off.