Logo

Honda 9.9 air bubbles

Frolic

Im getting bubbles from the 4 small holes above the cavation plate at all power settings....what are these holes for? good water flow from P hole runs fine...

Hi Frolic,

Approximately how old is your outboard? The 9.9 has been around for decades.

I have to say that I'm no expert on this subject and the Honda shop manuals I've read don't really address it. So, just consider this a discussion and it might prompt someone that really has the "scoop" to jump in and teach us both something.

I believe those little holes act primarily as drains for the exhaust side of the extension case.

Not sure what is causing the bubbles but could be that you have something wrapped up around, behind or in the prop that is restricting the exhaust flow. Just a guess though.

The exhaust is supposed to be mixed with water from the cooling system and I suppose a problem with that "system" might also result in bubbles down there.

Up top on the BF9.9 D model is the "exhaust chamber"
(See link below) and I'm not sure what would happen if that big old gasket got a big tear in it.

Hopefully someone else here has a more precise answer for you.

Please let us know what you find and good luck.

Im getting bubbles from the 4 small holes above the cavation plate at all power settings....what are these holes for? good water flow from P hole runs fine...
Interesting info. Perhaps I’ll pull the prop and check for debris. I have had seaweed around it several times. Let you know

I've seen where people talk about the extension case seal going bad and causing bubbles down below too. Not sure how that works but just tossing it out there..

I noticed an extraordinary amount of bubbles today on my 2021 Honda 9.9 as well. The engine is running great when in neutral. Any throttle in gear bogs it down, and it cuts off. I can use the engine at low speeds in gear, controlling it with the choke.