Logo

Help...just about going crazy: 6hp 2008 Mercury 4stroke

bigtime_mcalpine

Regular Contributor
Sorry, newbie here with no contributions to make yet...unless you need help with your Volvo cars, those I can handle!
My 4 stroke is driving me up the wall. Bought out sailboat at the beginning of the season. Got it for a steal partly because the party selling believed the motor to need servicing.

I took a look at the motor and saw that the fuel connector bit was missing (the piece that connects to tank line. Purchased that, put it on and away she went. Purred like a cat. Fast forward 6 weeks. Out for a sail and motoring back when motor just cuts out. I pull the cord, it starts, then stalls. This is repeated a few times. We end up getting towed in. Next morning, starts like a champ so I took it around the harbour making sure that it could run and restart without issue. No problems.

Next morning same thing. No issues.

Next sail, I pull start it, it struggles then dies. No life since then.

I have:
  • checked fuel lines (disconnected each and blew air through)
  • Removed and inspected fuel pump. Looked fine, metal bit had good spring to it and retracted with moderate force
  • Checked the carb, took it apart, cleaned it, inspected/cleaned needle valve (looked perfect)
  • Checked for spark - it has spark (enough to give me a bit of a tickle anyway) - going to get a spark tester to be sure
  • inspected fuel filter and pick-up in tank. Clean.
  • Inspected sparkplug. Looks darker than it should be but not so much that it would prevent a start I'm thinking
  • Inspected kill switch and unplugged it from coil pack for kicks, no change.
  • Inspected flame ignitor, clear clean obstruction free.

I'm at a loss. Haven't checked for compression but before it went, it was purring so not sure that's a factor. Will be checking anyway. Just need to grab a tester.

Any ideas? This is a simple enough motor and not that old, why the heck won't it start???