Logo

Goofed and lost oil from upper gear case main bearing

vpamateur

I mistakenly removed the cover plate (4 screws in each corner) from the top of the upper gear case on my 2005 Volvo Penta DPX sterndrive, exposing a large roller bearing. (I had also removed the cap that covers this plate and the area where the shift cable attaches.) When I did this oil starting running out of a "weep" hole about half way down the side of the unit. It did not appear that I damaged a gasket or seal that might be under that cover plate but I'm not sure. I quickly replaced that plate but oil continued to run out for a few minutes. I lost probably a total of 2-3 oz of oil.

I'm a rank amateur in this area. Does this top plate have to be replaced with a specific torque? Should a seal be replaced? How to replace the lube (oil) that was lost? Is this a job that I should immediately refer to a qualified technician?

Thanks. vpamateur

If the boat was out of the water, you've caused no damage to anything other than gaskets and O-rings, and you've lost some gear oil.

DO NOT Re-Use any of these gaskets/O-rings.... period!
For the small cost of replacements, you'd be kicking yourself if you re-used any and developed an issue.

If you are doing this yourself, pick up an OEM service manual..... not Seloc or Clymers.... OEM.
If you have the manual in hand, there is less chance of misinterpretation, a mistake, etc.

Or..... have a professional do this for you.

OK.... now the A$$ Chewing:
Had you opened up the OEM service manual in the first place........, you'd not be in this predicament!

Look up the cost of a replacement drive, or drive components......, and then decide if you want to attempt this yourself.

Last edited:
Well, thank you for not getting upset at my A$$ Chewing! :D

By all means give this a shot yourself, but be careful, and it's over your head, seek the help from a pro.