Logo

evinrude fast wind 18hp 1960

Hello Everyone.
I am new at this . I just bought a 1960 evinrude fast wind. !8 hp the serial number is 1503252855
It came with no gas plug or tank. Any info on substituting or purchasing. I says thats its a presurrised gas tank. Any info out there

The model number is the beginning of the serial number: Evinrude 15032

As raceone says the drawings show a conventional tank, see: Fuel Tank That drawing will show what parts are available.

That engine should have a fuel pump. The pressurized tank engines didn't need fuel pumps.

Hello Evryone
My pic where in to large of a format. thats why i could add a pic. So i have three knobs in front of the boat. The first one i believe is the choke the secind one seems to be connected to the carb. What does that ine do. And the 3rd one on the right is turning by it self because the links are broken. But what doe sthat one do?
Please advise i

Attachments

• 3 ajustment knobs.jpg
    3 ajustment knobs.jpg
    36.7 KB · Views: 1
In this picture the adustment screw is in the air filter. So if i read the repair manual that one would have been connected to the thrird knob for air adjustment but the connectors ar no longer there. I tried buying them yesterday from marine engine.com but they dont ship to canada.

That is the low speed mixture adjustment.-----Try-----evinrudeparts.ca-----they may be able to help you.-----Where in Canada?

On a 64 year old motor I would do a complete evaluation before spending any beer tokens.-----Post the compression values here.-----It will need a new impeller.-----Any water in gearcase ?----Remove recoil.----Remove cover on flywheel.----Inspect coils.----See post #10

Hello Again
I took your advise and checked the condenser and coils. Need to replace coils and pointsé But at same time i noticed some oil So the top crankshaft seal.jpg