Logo

Chris Craft 283 - can't get over 2500 RPM

1956Holiday

Hello,

I have a 20' 1956 Chris Craft Holiday with a 283 engine and cannot get faster than 2500RPM when in the water. I had the carb rebuilt and even put in some GUNK fuel system cleaner. Sounds great, no vibrations, etc.

Appreciate any suggestions or direction.

Had a friend that came over.....

Did a couple of things.

1st: Had the manifold cover on backwards on one side and the rockers were rubbing against the covers... Oil was actually coming out and the metal "pulsed" due to them pressing on the cover. Thought is that they might have gotten stuck. I am a novice........:rolleyes: and did not know they could go on backwards.

2nd: Adjusted the choke. I had lots of trouble starting the engine when it was hot and adjusted the choke far to the opposite side. I can start when the engine is warm, but it looked like the 3rd and 4th barrels were not opening up due to that adjustment. Gonna take her out and see what happens.

Hello,

I have a 20' 1956 Chris Craft Holiday with a 283 engine and cannot get faster than 2500RPM when in the water. I had the carb rebuilt and even put in some GUNK fuel system cleaner. Sounds great, no vibrations, etc.

Appreciate any suggestions or direction.

I've had nothing but trouble with my 1981 305... all caused by Ethanol fuel which has "phase separated". Try pumping some fuel out into a glass jar and see what it looks like. If its cloudy, than you've the the same problem I had. The only thing to do (I believe) is pump out the tank and buy only non-ethanol gas.

You could check to see if it is a gas issue, by re-routing the fuel pump intake into a "jerry" can with fresh gas in it. Just be careful of those gas vapors... they can go to the bottom of the boat and cause an explosion.

You also should check your distributor timing, etc.

Or the propellor could have too large a pitch... loading down the engine. Did it ever go above 2,500 rpm?

Bob S.