Logo

Carb/EFI

msdbret

Hello,
I'm a tech with MSD Ignition and am doing a little research in regards to when inboards switched from carburetors to fuel injection. If anyone has any thoughts on this it would be greatly appreciated. You can contact me either through this forum or through e-mail at [email protected]. Thanks for your time. Bret- MSD Ignition.

Mercruiser came out with the 454 & 502 MPI's in late 1992 for the 93 model year, They also had the 320 EFI in around 1988ish i believe it was.

Is that the information your looking for?

Offshoreonly boating forums would be another good place for someone like you to look around, Them guys use MSD a lot.;)
http://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/

Last edited:
MSD just released the Atomic EFI for automotive applications (see link below). If the market is there, MSD might expand this product to fit marine applications. Ultimately for now, this is just market research but it could result in actual product at some point in time. We welcome any input that you or anyone else might have on this subject. Thanks again-Bret MSD Ignition
Atomic EFI.com

the 320 EFI was available in 87 (maybe 86). then the big blocks in 93 (Gen V). the small blocks started with the TBI units ~95 and then died soon thereafter being replaced with the MPI setup.

the 320 EFI was available in 87 (maybe 86). then the big blocks in 93 (Gen V). the small blocks started with the TBI units ~95 and then died soon thereafter being replaced with the MPI setup.

Yes, 1986, I worked on a 18 ft Checkmate years ago with a 350 efi 1986, 320 hp alpha one gen I. Old style valve covers (outer edge bolts) and two piece rear main seal.

Bret, welcome aboard!

This may be premature or not even necessary to mention but, (I hate "buts") I know that MDS is big into the Automotive High Performance, I'm sure to the extent that MSD is involved in Marine.