Logo

Calling outboard sleuths! Mercury 2004 8hp 2 stroke carb, fuel issues.

Scoop

[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]I am frustrated! [/FONT]
[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]
[FONT=&quot] I’ve taken the carb apart 3 times, fuel filter, and played around with the fuel line all to find a problem that seems to elude me. [/FONT]
[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]My motor: 2004 Mercury 8hp 2 stroke (model 1008201CD). Carb is a WMC-79a[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]This outboard has a diaphragm fuel pump. [/FONT]
[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]https://www.jamestowndistributors.com/userportal/show_product.do?pid=84106[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]History: Motor seemed to run rough and die a few times on the water. Decided to do a carburetor cleaning. I’ve cleaned carbs for other small engines, but this is my first time on an outboard. [/FONT]
[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]1[SUP]st[/SUP] carb cleaning: The carburetor looked very clean. But, cleaned out all jets and reassembled the carburetor anyway. Put in new fuel filter (although looked very clean). Upon completion, the engine was difficult to start and would run for a minute or two until one could see air form in fuel lines (have clear lines) from carb to air filter (not getting fuel assumed likely cause). Put fuel tank up on front end loader to test fuel pump and engine would run much better/longer. [/FONT]
[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]2[SUP]nd[/SUP] carb disassembly: After reading, took carb apart. Found gasket from carb to main engine was turned around and the small round hole not in right place. Put gasket on right, and expect this to solve problem. To my surprise, engine ran the same as before – started, but not easily, ran for a minute, while more air than fuel seemed to build in fuel line going to carb, then died after minute or two of struggling. Even more surprising the fuel pump testing (raising fuel tank above carb on front end loader) seemed ineffective. [/FONT]
[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]