Logo

88 force 125 won’t run/ backfire?

oillywater

Hey guys I’m new to all this stuff even owning a a boat so cut me some slack.
I have a 88’ force 125 that I don’t know how long hasn’t ran for I wasn’t getting sparked so I disconnected the magneto cable and now I have spark. I can get it to putt and run for about 2-5 second. Then it randomly turned on for about 12 seconds and then gave a loud pop like a backfire I think and shut off and put a lot of either soot or oil looks more like soot to me. Then I went to crank it again and it wouldn’t even putt. Seems like it wasn’t getting gas so I pulled the fuel pump didn’t take it apart since gasket was brittle blew through it which it was really had to blow thru still kinda is but better. And now it putt and turns on for a bit but then does the same think backfire and shut off. Also forgot to mention that I’d have a lot of gas dripping out of the carbs when I stop cranking the motor. I’ll post pics of old sparks

The backfire could be: too much fuel going into the motor? Sucking air can make it backfire(blown gaskets).
The plugs look normal.
The oil in the water: too much gas in the motor.
What it sounds like to me: the motors sucking air from bad gaskets, or the fuel pump diaphragm is bad.
Buy a rebuild kit and then try to start it.
Lots of oil in gas: the trying to start again and again and pumping the ball again and again pushes excess fuel into the motor, the gas evaporates and leaves the oil then that blows the oil out when it backfires.
Do a compression and spark test, post the results.
The port cover gaskets are the usual problem, one backfire can blow all 4 and that's real hard to find.

How can 1 backfire blow these 4 gaskets ???-----There are 4 separate crankcases in this motor.----Maybe check the flywheel key.

The backfire could be: too much fuel going into the motor? Sucking air can make it backfire(blown gaskets).
The plugs look normal.
The oil in the water: too much gas in the motor.