Logo

87 Merc 115

G

G. Reed

" dies upon acceleration, howe

" dies upon acceleration, however if i push in on the key switch, activating the "enricher" curcuit solenoid and giving it a little shot of fuel while throttling up it seems to pick
right up and i can continue getting into the throttle and all the way to full rpm's. Does this seem to be a fuel pump problem or something else? "

" Hi,

I'm no expert,

" Hi,

I'm no expert, but I have done a decent amount of hacking around my outboards (most of which solved more problems than it caused), and own a 1986 merc 115, which I recently gave an entire fuel system overhaul (rebuilt carbs/ pump/ new hoses etc. - 20 hours since and it runs better than my truck). Here's my two cents:

If your RPM's pick up when you hit the choke, or if it stalls/hesitates apon acceleration I would say you have something wrong in the fuel side. Another good sign of a fuel issue is hard starting when cold - had any of this?

When you punch the throttle, the first thing that happens is the butterflies on your carbs open wide up. If there is any fuel deficiency,the mixture is going to be way too lean, and the engine will either stall, or hesitate. Hitting the choke closes those butterflies, richening the mix.

You should pick up a manual before you start any work, but my suggestion is first to check the compression, don't waste your time if powerhead is blown. If all your cylinders are over about 115 psi with no single one more than about 10 psi away from the others, your power head is probably ok.. then go to the fuel system.