Logo

2005 Johnson 9.9 Fuel Supply Issue?

justin.shay2

Hi All,

New, stupid, & bit a beginner here, but I'm starting to lose my mind with this engine. Definitely don't assume that any problem is something I would have figured out. I did a bunch of work to this outboard about a month and a half ago, was running great, then while out it started to bog. Next morning would not start at all. Could get it to run with throttle wide open, but it was fighting for its life & would eventually die. Easing off throttle also kills it. The behavior you can see in the video attached. If you're not comfortable opening a random link posted by a stranger, I can try to describe it in more detail.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/bTDdKx1m5NoXzXaZA

Quick summary of the work last month -
  • Replaced both spark plugs
  • New fuel pump
  • New water pump
  • Carb rebuild, top half replaced
  • electric starter rebuilt
  • drive shaft replaced
  • lower unit resealed
Thanks for any wisdom, even if the wisdom is "huck it in the ocean"

When you say you rebuilt the carb, when was that, before or after the problem arose?

It appears to die as you reduce the throttle to a lower idle. Try pulling out the choke a little before it dies and see if that revives it any. If it does, I would look at cleaning that carburetor again.

Thanks for your reply -

This started shortly after the rebuild. I've only run it for a few hours since. Pre-rebuild problem was dying at low RPM, difficulty starting. Found that the idle adjustment had been mangled & was not actually adjusting anything, so needed new top half.

It dies in the same way as in the video when any choke is applied. Fuel filter is new & looked fine, and the bulb pumps up & stays firm when not attached to outboard. Soapy water along the whole fuel line didn't show any leaks from the tank to the engine.

The other test to try is to squeeze the primer bulb just before it stalls to see if that fixes it temporarily. Have you tried that?